
Acquiring Healthy Grape Plants:
What you need to know to get quality planting stock for vineyards

Establishing or replanting a vineyard is a major long-term investment.  For that reason, you will want
to do all that you can to get quality, disease-free planting stock.  The Oregon Department of

Agriculture (ODA) has a set of rules and quarantines that help facilitate the production and
importation of healthy grapevine material.  These rules and quarantines have been crafted with
industry and university input and are important tools that help assure you will have access to high
quality planting stock.  Some of these rules are new and some are recently revised.  This fact sheet
will discuss some of these changes and serve as a guide for acquiring healthy grape plants in Oregon.

Why do we need these regulations?  Wine grapes (Vitis sp.) are clonally propagated. This insures
trueness to type, but it also greatly increases the chance of disease transmission.  Many of the serious
pathogens and pests that plague grapes have been carried along with infested planting stock, or in soil
adhering to roots.  Quarantines, certification programs and nursery licensing and inspections are
effective in disease and pest suppression or elimination, if they are followed.

Where do I get grapevine planting stock?  You should purchase your grapevines only from a
licensed nursery. These nurseries are inspected by plant regulatory officials and follow approved
methods for plant propagation and disease and pest suppression.

Nurseries in Oregon.  By Oregon law, anyone who propagates planting stock, including grapevines,
or who sells cuttings, including dormant budwood, must have a current nursery license.  This license
enables the ODA to inspect stock, to issue shipping certificates, to give horticultural advice and to
inform the nursery of rules and regulations. Oregon nursery laws also prohibit the sale of plants with
dangerous pests and disease.  For information about licensing, please call 503-986-4644.

Out-of-State Nurseries:  Many vineyardists choose to buy their planting stock from other states.
However, Oregon has several quarantines that restrict out-of-state material, due to the occurrence of
dangerous pests and diseases. The grape quarantine and the glassy-winged sharpshooter quarantine
directly impact these shipments.  Other quarantines, such as the Japanese beetle and brown garden
snail may impact these shipments, depending on the origin (over).

What are the recent changes in the ODA regulations?  The ODA Grape Quarantine was updated on
May 22, 2002 to reflect industry practices and to allow better tracking of shipments. Please contact
the ODA at (503) 986-4636 for a complete copy, or visit the ODA website to view regulations:
http://oda.state.or.us/Plant/plant_division_homepage.htm.
Some key features of the revised quarantine include:

•  24-hour pre-notification of out-of-state shipments by means of a state phytosanitary certificate.
•  Shipments certified free of dangerous pests and diseases.
•  Plants produced in sterile, soil-less media; no field-grown material is allowed entry.
•  The ODA may hold and inspect shipments and may charge established rates to cover inspection costs.
•  Materials found in violation are subject to immediate return or destruction at no cost to the ODA
    and the violator may be subject to criminal fines up to $5,000 and civil penalties up to $10,000.

                                                                          (over)



What are the requirements for importing grape nursery stock into Oregon from other countries?  The
importation of grapevines directly from foreign sources is prohibited by federal law. This is because of

the risk of importing pests and disease that do not yet occur in the United States. Only a few germplasm
centers, such as the Foundation Plant Materials Service (FPMS) in Davis, California have a permit and
a virus indexing program that allows safe importation of plants.

What are the requirements for shipping grape nursery stock within Oregon?  Anyone who
propagates planting stock, including grapevines, or who sells cuttings must have a current nursery
license.  Vineyardists should only purchase plants from a licensed nursery that is regularly inspected
by the Oregon Department of Agriculture.  A shipping permit, issued by the Oregon Department of
Agriculture and stating that the stock is from a nursery that is regularly inspected and is free from
dangerous pests and diseases, should accompany each shipment.

What are the requirements for shipping grape nursery stock into Oregon?  Anyone bringing in
grapevines from another state must follow the steps listed below:  It is the responsibility of both the
shipping nursery and the vineyardist to make sure all necessary certification is provided.

•  Pre-notification of each shipment is required.  At least 24 hours before shipment, the shipping
nursery shall fax or e-mail a phytosanitary certificate to the ODA Plant Division  fax:503/986-4786,
e-mail: quarantine@oda.state.or.us

 •  Plants must be certified as being produced in sterile, soil-less media [no field grown stock.]
 •  Plants must be certified as being free from dangerous pests and diseases.

•  Certification of treatment for Glassy-winged sharpshooter and official testing for Pierce’s Disease

(Xylella fastidiosa) will be required if the material originates from Alabama, Arkansas, California
Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, South Carolina, or Texas.

•  Certification for brown garden snail may be required depending upon the origin of the plants.
(Arizona, California, Hawaii, New Mexico, Texas, Utah, and Washington are under quarantine).

•  Certification for Japanese Beetle Quarantine may be required depending upon the origin of the
plants. (Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa,
Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri,
Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma,
Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia,
Wisconsin, the District of Columbia, the Provinces of Ontario and Quebec, Canada are under

quarantine).  Contact the ODA Plant Division for information at (503) 986-4644.

• Interstate shipments may be required to be held for inspection by the ODA prior to planting.  This is
to allow spot-checks of material entering the state.  Inspections will be scheduled as close to delivery
time as schedules allow.  Plants that do not have proper certification or that have harmful pests or
diseases may be held, treated, rejected or destroyed, depending the severity of the situation.  The
department will assess the vineyardist the established rates for time and mileage for such inspection
(OAR 603-052-0051).

More information:  If you need more information about these rules, please contact the Plant Division at
(503) 986-4644  or e-mail us at http://oda.state.or.us/Plant/plant_division_homepage.htm
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