
Grape Quarantine       603-052-0051

(1) Establishing Quarantine. A quarantine is established against pests and diseases of wine grapes.

(2) Area Under Quarantine. All states, districts, and territories of the United States, except Oregon.

(3) Commodities Covered. Plants, cuttings and all other plant parts (except fruits) of grape (Vitis species),
excluding table grapes, Vitis labrusca.

(4) Restrictions: All covered commodities are prohibited entry into the State of Oregon unless they meet the
requirements in (a) through (d) below;

(a) Freedom from Soil: Only grape cuttings and rooted plants produced in sterile soil-less media are permitted
entry into Oregon.

(b) Freedom from dangerous pests and diseases: Cuttings and plants must be free of dangerous pests and
diseases.

(c) Phytosanitary Certificate Required: All shipments must be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate issued
by an official of the state of origin certifying that the grape cuttings or rooted plants have been inspected and to

the best of the knowledge of the inspecting official are free from dangerous pests and diseases. In addition, the
phytosanitary certificate must certify that rooted plants were grown in sterile soil-less media. Note: depending

on origin, other State quarantines may apply (e.g. glassywinged sharpshooter, European brown garden snail,
Japanese beetle) and may require other additional declarations on the phytosanitary certificate.

(d) Prenotification of regulated commodity shipment is required. At least one day prior to shipment, the shipper
shall mail, FAX or e-mail documents including the phytosanitary certificate, listing the type and quantity of

plants, address of shipper, address of recipient, and contact phone numbers to: Nursery Program Supervisor,

Plant Division, Oregon Department of Agriculture, 635 Capitol Street NE, Salem, Oregon 97301; FAX:
503/986-4786; e-mail: <quarantine@oda.state.or.us>. The Department may require that shipments be held until

inspected and released. If the recipient is not a licensed nursery, the Department may charge established rates
for time and mileage to recover the cost of inspection.

(5) Violation of Quarantine. All covered commodities determined to be in violation of this quarantine, shall be
immediately returned by the recipient to the point of origin or, at their option and without expense or indemnity

paid by the Department, destroyed. Violation of this quarantine may result in a fine, if convicted, of not less
than $500 nor more than $5,000 as provided by ORS 561.990(4). Violators may also be subject to civil

penalties of up to $10,000 as provided by Oregon Laws 1999, chapter 390, section 2; nursery license suspension

or nursery license revocation.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 561.190, ORS 561.510 - ORS 561.600, ORS 570.305, ORS 570.405 & ORS 570.410 - ORS

570.415
Stats. Implemented: ORS 561.190, ORS 561.510 - ORS 561.600, ORS 570.305, ORS 570.405 & ORS 570.410

- ORS 570.415
Hist.: AD 913(19-69), f. 12-26-69, ef. 1-25-70; AD 939(7-71), f. 8-18-71, ef. 9-1-71; Suspended by DOA 19-

2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 9-11-01 thru 2-22-02; DOA 14-2002, f. & cert. ef. 5-23-02
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